Tibet Supporters Amongst Victorious In Indian Elections

Hindu nationalist Narendra Modi (C), India's prime minister-elect from the Bharatiya Janata Party, performs a religious ritual on the banks of river Ganges at Varanasi, in the northern Indian state of Uttar Pradesh, May 17, 2014.
Several politicians known for their support of the Tibetan people have won in the 2014 Indian General Election. "Most of them were from the BJP political party…. including Thupten Tshewang from Ladakh, Kiran Rijuji from Arunachal, Shanta Kumar from Himachal, Dr. Harsh Vardhan from Delhi and also from many other parties," says Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok a member of Tibetan Parliament in Exile.

When asked about Prime Minister designate Narendra Modi, Acharya said that, “It is evident that Modi is close to the Tibetan cause and knows the Tibetan issue very well. Above all many of his close associates and advisers have won this election and it’s good for us." He went on to say that Mr. Modi was on close terms with Indresh Kumar, a leader in the RSS, a Hindu nationalist group, who is also the chairmen of "Bharat-Tibbat Sahayog Manch", an active Tibet support group in India.
please wait

No media source currently available

0:00 0:07:03 0:00